what truly matters

whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

#YestoGod: The penny dropped

I have to admit that on the first reading of chapter 1 of What happens when women say Yes to God, I felt somewhat intimidated. There I was, obviously searching for a deeper relationship with the Lord, or else a study of this nature would not catch my attention.

Somehow, I got sidetracked by the wonderful testimony of the Bible that Lysa gave to the stranger on the plane. In my mind, obedience suddenly equaled doing something physical that the Lord would instruct, the moment I say Yes to God.

Three days into the OBS, the ah-ha moment happened. The penny dropped. Every word, every story, every miracle, every command in the Bible, from page one of the Old Testament, right through to the last page of the New Testament: that is what I will be saying Yes to. Lysa calls it “so simple and yet so profound.”

Mere seconds later, I received a clear conviction when the Holy Spirit whispered the words of Hebrews 10:25 into my heart. I have neglected the mid-week prayer meetings at our church for a long time. This would be my first command after saying Yes to God.

I am so excited to see what else the Lord has in store for me!

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “#YestoGod: The penny dropped

  1. Amanda great post. So glad you are joining us in the study. Sounds like you are ready for an amazing YES journey:) Keep taking those small steps of faith! Hugs!

    • I am super excited about the study, Amanda. I enjoyed the first week, although I ran out of time with the last of the questions in the book. I intend to catch up tomorrow. Blessings

  2. Thank you for showing our yestoGod can involve simple acts. I look forward to hearing what God has in store for you through your return to prayer meeting.

  3. Thank you so much for sharing your heart with us. I struggle to grasp how God could use me…your post reminded me that we each have special roles to play. I have lots to pray and think about! Thank you!

  4. What a revelation–that sometimes saying “yes” to God doesn’t mean a particularly physical act, might not even mean an amazingly super-spiritual act or an act of great courage. It might be something simple….something everyday….that God is calling you to do. I love how when you listened to Him, He gave you the direction you needed and that you’re excited to obey!

    • Thanks for the comment, Heather. It is exciting but also scary to see how quickly the devil gets in the way. I messed up by not having dinner ready in time, and missed the Bible Study. That was an eye opener! Whenever one takes a stand, the opposition also does.

  5. I love this! What a wonderful example of what it means when we say Yes Lord, I will follow Your leading. I pray you are blessed by resuming your weekly study group!

  6. Karri on said:

    Thank you for sharing this! Wonderful example of listening to God! Blessings and Hugs!!

  7. What a wonderful post. And yes, so simple yet so profound. I pray that God will bless your time with your group. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

